Skip to content

Farmer’s Market Home Run!

November 17, 2008

Spank me, curse me, flog me! I know it’s been too long since my last post and I’ve got a boatload of excuses for you: I was making calls for Obama, obsessively checking election results, scouring political blogs, training for a backpacking trip (and hiking with all my free blogging time), my computer was on the fritz, my camera’s acting up… all true, but the truth is we’ve still been going to the Hollywood Farmer’s Market. Except for one Sunday morning trek along the PCT, today I give you autumn’s turn at the Market — a variation in four parts.

November 16, 2008

fm11_16_08

My peach lady (who was selling apples this week) may not be coming back next week so we picked up five pounds of Fujis to tide us over in case she bolts early for the season. We’ve been saying goodbye to a handful of farmer’s whose fields are resting for the spring, part of the seasonal eating ritual. So what did we get? That mound of broccoli is going into some broco-potato-cheese soup along with the celery, carrots, and onions. The oodles of basil will probably be pesto-ized to go along with some lightly sauteed tomatoes and garlic. Those shitakes, thyme and leeks seem to scream F-A-R-R-O to me, while the butternut squash is baking for it’s final resting place on a pizza from scratch (the dough is rising as I type thanks to the Wife). Brussels will be flash steamed and then fried in some butter, while the spinach and it’s baby brothers along with the pepper will probably be eaten straight up — that is unless you send my last minute suggestions and we retool the this week’s improv. Oh let’s not forget the free range eggs that’s be scrambled up or made into a cake.

November 9, 2008

fm11_9_08

We’ve been spoiled this year with a long succulent peach season. This week Autumn Ladies made their last stand at the Market, officially closing out my fair peaches for 2008. I’m starting to think I should have made some peach jam to tide us over, but oh well… gotta wait until next year. Other highlights from this week include apples, a pomegranate, raspberries, blueberries, an heirloom tomato, farm fresh eggs, kale, arugula, spinach, italian parsley, onion, sage, rosemary, and the first of the season celery root that’ll go well mashed with those yukon golds.

November 2, 2008

fm11_02_08

Election fever was in the air and everyone seemed to be wearing Obama buttons and No on 8 (Equality for all) and Yes on 2 (give animals the chance to turn around) stickers. This week also marked the debut of fresh pasture raised chicken from Healthy Family Farms. The bird we picked was living less than twenty-four hours before I put it into the oven to roast along with rosemary, thyme, garlic, and a handful of baby fingerlings — this was by far the best roast chicken I’d had in years. We also picked up some leeks, shitakes, apples, peaches, peppers, a pomegranate, raspberries, butternut squash, cherry tomatoes, arugula, snap peas, a bushel of basil, sunflowers, and our favorite creamy Soledad Goats Cheese.

October 26, 2008

fm_10_26_08

Radicchio, radicchio, and radicchio joined some crimini mushrooms, italian parsley, sage, and garlic for an earthy lasagna this week.  In addition we picked up some baby spinach, onions, carrots, cauliflower, fingerlings, tomatoes, zucchini, tri-color berries, peaches, and flowers.

There have been many meals with friends and family and hopefully I’ll get the time to write about a few of them soon. Until then, happy eating everyone! And feel free to send in your suggestions, who knows — you might get a dish named after you.

The “Farmer’s Market Bounty” series is a weekly, typological photo essay of my Market shopping, which charts the possibilities of seasonal eating.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2008 6:52 pm

    Glad that you are back! Looks like you have plenty of yummy looking stuff to make this week. I am pouting over here in KS because our Farmer’s Market is closed for the winter till April. I’ll have to be doing my produce shopping at the Co-op grocery store till then. Boo hoo. Hope you post some recipes soon! :)

  2. lastomach permalink*
    November 19, 2008 9:54 pm

    Thanks Grace. I must say I was jealous of your last hurrah at the Market.

  3. December 1, 2008 9:05 pm

    Nice haul!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

