Skip to content

Egg Salad Crostini

July 8, 2008

My doctor just called to tell me that my cholesterol was a little high. I’m sure this egg salad crostini isn’t going to help my arteries any, but it sure does hit the spot.

I like to make things that the wife can take to the office for lunch so last night I put our chives to use and whipped up a little egg salad a la Alice Waters. I didn’t complain that there was plenty leftover for me to indulge. The kick of garlic, capers, and chives, the snap-crunch of celery, and the smooth creamy blend of egg yokes and homemade aioli make for a fantastic, easily transportable meal. Do I hear picnic anybody?

For recipe…

Egg Salad a la Alice Waters (doctored to my tastes)

6 hard cooked eggs, chopped coarsely

3 tablespoons chives, chopped

3/4 cup celery, diced (3-4 ribs)

2 teaspoons capers, rinsed, dried, and chopped

1/3 cup aioli

Salt, fresh ground pepper, and a touch of cayenne

Mix everything together, slather over a toasted rustic bread, and enjoy!

Homemade Aioli:

1 egg yoke

1/2 teaspoon water

pinch of salt and pepper

2 garlic cloves, ground in mortar and pestle into paste

splash of lemon juice

In a mixing bowl, whisk egg, half of garlic, and water together and then slowly add oil, whisking constantly until mixture thickens. Taste and adjust with more garlic, lemon juice, salt, and pepper.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2008 3:17 pm

    Here’s to yummy crostini! Here’s to Alice! Here’s to high cholesterol! I’m going to give this a try – it’s perfect for alfresco dining.

  2. lastomach permalink*
    July 26, 2008 1:52 am

    Let me know how it goes Sweet Freak!

Leave a Reply

