Skip to content

Strawberry-Rhubarb Redux: Gettin’ Naked

July 12, 2008

I couldn’t help myself at the Market this week. A pile of green and red-streaked rhubarb hidden between mounds of beans — I felt like I found a first edition in the bargain bin. Rhubarb’s prime season had passed, and the usual farmer suspects had long replaced it with other fare. To celebrate my serendipity, I decided to get naked last night.

No, not bare bottomed naked, but I decided to make my Strawberry-Rhubarb Crisp naked (sans crisp). I could spoon it over yogurt, I could mix it with oatmeal, I could slather it over toast, or I could just slurp it up straight. I followed my recipe from the last time me and rhubarb had a date,  and about thirty minutes in the oven later, I checked my masterpiece. The berries and rhubarb had turned into a soupy sweet-tart mush and I started to realize I had basically just made jam. Okay, it was late, the wife was out of town, I had a few glasses of wine… in retrospect I should have done this on the stove top. And then I just did it, wine glass in one hand, I added a few sprinkles of flour, figuring it was kind of like a gravy, right? A few more minutes in the oven to caramelize the fruit (and veggies, since rhubarb is a cousin of celery) and I got the thicker consistency I was after. Like a drug fiend, I ate it straight out of the pot for my first fix. But the best part was the morning after:

Naked Strawberry-Rhubarb oatmeal.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2008 3:20 am

    Hey, I LOVE rhubarb…. but maybe not so naked. Check out my mom’s rhubarb crunch recipe on my blog!

    Jen

  2. lastomach permalink*
    July 16, 2008 4:49 am

    Thanks for the tip Jen. I took a look at your mom’s recipe — looks great.

    I also made a not so naked rhubarb crisp:

    https://lastomach.wordpress.com/2008/07/04/strawberry-and-rhubarb-fields-forever/

Leave a Reply

