Skip to content

Farmer’s Market Bounty: August 10, 2008

August 12, 2008

San Francisco’s got nothing on Los Angeles! Both have baseball teams that were born and bred in New York City, but there’s a reason that the Dodgers are currently 1.5 games out of first place and the Giants are 9.5 games in the hole. The secret: Los Angeles has former Yankee manager Joe Torre, former Red Sox star Manny Ramirez, and a better Farmer’s Market according to my Northern California KWB who was visiting this weekend.

This week my mushroom men were back and they surprised me with first of season chanterelles. We also picked up some heirloom tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, raspberries, strawberries, grapes, nectarines, peaches, plums, pluots, watercress, italian parsley, arugula, baby spinach, basil, summer corn, leeks, heirloom cantaloupe, sweet ambrosia melon, radishes, red onion, zucchini, haricots verts, okra, garlic, and creamy Soledad goat cheese.

As always, we welcome ideas about what to make this week, so please send in your ideas. Who knows, you might get a dish named after you.

The “Farmer’s Market Bounty” series is a weekly, typological photo essay of my Market shopping, which charts the possibilities of seasonal eating.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2008 6:33 am

    I am so jealous that you can get so much great fruit at your Farmer’s Market! We are pretty limited on our fruit choices out here. C’est la vie!

    What are you going to do with the okra? I have been seeing lots of it here, but I haven’t picked it up yet due to lack of an idea of what to make.

  2. lastomach permalink*
    August 15, 2008 5:16 am

    Grace,
    Here’s what my KWB Angie K told me about okra,
    “My Alabama grandmother, Opal, used to slice it, batter
    it and fry it up in salty bacon grease and the like when I was a kid, and it
    was probably my favorite food. I’ve been too busy to fry anything up these
    past few days, so I’ve been eating it raw, like carrots. Yum yum: okra.”

  3. August 18, 2008 5:04 pm

    if you’ve still got access to pluots, i had the most amazing salad in Portland, OR a few years ago that still ranks among the best things i’ve ever eaten. it was fresh pluots and some other stone fruits – maybe peaches or plums, but i’m sure anything fresh and perfect will do – with feta cheese and a dressing made of fresh mint and saba. good luck finding the saba and get your proportions transcendental.

  4. August 18, 2008 5:57 pm

    I am going to pick some up next weekend. I never even thought of eating it raw! Hope you are having fun in NYC! Missing your weekly pic of your farmer’s market bounty, but I am sure that you are eating lots of yummy food!

  5. August 18, 2008 7:01 pm

    I was just in Berlin last week and chanterelles were in abundance! Had dinner with friends at Prater (perhaps Berlin’s oldest beer garden?) and the entire top half of the daily menu was dedicated to Pfifferlinge – chanterelles. Pfifferlinge and cheese, Pfifferlinge and meats, Pfifferlinge and Pfifferlinge. My friend ordered Pfifferlinge with 2 cheesy bready meatballs. Her plate looked like a Smurf village hit by giant asteroids.

Leave a Reply

