Skip to content

Farmers Market Bounty: September 7, 2008

September 10, 2008

The word for the day is Bubalus Bubalis. And for those of you who didn’t pass Latin, that means Water Buffalo which happen to produce a milk that is not only healthier and more nutritious for you than cows milk, it makes a mean cheese. We’ve been getting ricotta cheese from one of the fine purveyors at the Market for a few weeks now from some very stoned cheese men. This week, in a moment of cannabis clarity, our cheese monger was able to tell us that our fabulous ricotta that we’ve been whipping into gnocchi is actually from Bubalus Bubalis (and was made on Friday). No wonder it tasted so darn good (and now all my I have way too high cholesterol to be eating this much cheese but I just can’t stop myself guilt has just dialed down a notch).

This week was Heirloom Tomato Festival at the Hollywood Farmer’s Market and a few revelers dressed up in red felt fat suits for the occasion. We picked up some heirlooms and cherry tomatoes to do our part along with some raspberries, blackberries, blueberries, figs, pluots, peaches, nectarines, avocados, lemons, spinach, mixed greens, bi-color corn, fingerling potatoes, zucchini, carrots, leeks, chanterelle mushrooms, shitake mushrooms, charlynn melon, basil, thyme, sage, Soledad Goats goat cheese, and of course Bubalus Bubalis ricotta from Bubalus Bubalis Inc (sorry couldn’t help myself there).

As usual, we welcome ideas about what to make this week, so please send in your ideas. Who knows, you might get a dish named after you.

The “Farmer’s Market Bounty” series is a weekly, typological photo essay of my Market shopping, which charts the possibilities of seasonal eating.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2008 4:42 am

    I sit in awe by all fruit that you get! Oh, how I miss the life as a SoCal girl! Stoned cheese men, huh? Sounds like some of Lawrence’s farmers at the market on Saturdays!

    I guess with your high cholesterol, I shouldn’t tell you that I have a great little recipe for fried zucchini……

    I did just make a great dish tonight with green beans, homemade peanut sauce & tofu. I don’t know if you are tofu eaters or not. Sounds weird, but it was actually quite tasty. I’ll be posting it on my blog tomorrow 🙂

    P.S. The natural light in your kitchen makes me jealous. My eat-in kitchen table looks like I am taking a picture in the dungeon!

  2. lastomach permalink*
    September 10, 2008 5:52 am

    thanks for kicking me to get back to posting Grace! as for zucchini, i like to cut them into quarter slices and fry them up and finish them with a little parm — but fried zucchini blossoms with a little ricotta inside — divine. whatya doing with your zucs?

  3. September 10, 2008 3:06 pm

    Thanks for posting again–I missed your blog!!

    I’ll post the recipe on my blog for zucchinis today too. It’s from Giada De Laurentiis’ cookbook and it’s delicious! 🙂 And I LOVE zucchini blossoms with cheese inside …..yummy!

  4. September 10, 2008 4:52 pm

    What did you make with your chanterelles? We’re having a chanterelle mushroom recipe contest and would love to have you share your recipe! The prize is 2 lbs. of fresh chanterelles and a set of biodegradable plates. Check out the contest at http://marxfoods.com and if you’re looking for inspriation all the recipes that have been entered so far are posted on our blog.

Leave a Reply

