Skip to content

Farmers Market Bounty: September 14, 2008

September 17, 2008

This weekend I picked up a basketful of prune plums hoping to share a piece of my stomach’s lineage with the Wife. If my parents didn’t happen to be visiting, I would have never known those little plums were the infamous variety my grandmother used to make into pies every year as Summer bled into Fall. As luck would have it, this was their last week in season, and I could recreate the heirloom recipe.

Summer is finally coming to a close and the Farmers’ bounties are starting to show the seasonal drift. I’ll have to wait until next year for more of those blood of the bowl peaches that I couldn’t get enough of last Sunday. This week we picked up a boatload of prune plums (stay tuned for grandma’s pie adventures), raspberries, blackberries, blueberries, heirloom and cherry tomatoes, grapes, a nectarine, peaches (O’Henry variety), pluots, avocados, red onion, red pepper, probably our last of summer corn, shitake mushrooms, haricot verts, leeks, cauliflower, mixed greens, arugula, bunches of basil, Lily’s eggs, and Hollywood Farmer’s Market newcomer La Nogalera organic Walnut Oil (that we tossed with those fingerlings and rosemary and roasted tonight).

We’re going to be out of town these next two weekends, so sadly this was be our last Hollywood Farmer’s Market pilgrimage for the month of September — only nature knows what gastronomic wonders await us when we return.

As usual, we welcome ideas about what to make this week, so please send in your ideas. Who knows, you might get a dish named after you.

The “Farmer’s Market Bounty” series is a weekly, typological photo essay of my Market shopping, which charts the possibilities of seasonal eating.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 17, 2008 4:35 pm

    No Farmer’s Market for two weekends? I love traveling, but I do get a bit sad when I come back from a trip in the middle of the week with nothing in the fridge from the Farmer’s Market 😦

    I look forward to your pie adventure. I was just talking with a friend about how I make all kinds of desserts, but not pie! I am going to have to give it a try one of these days because I love a nice slice of homemade pie. Happy Cooking!

    P.S. I never did get that zucchini recipe up on my blog, but it looks like you have some this week too–maybe I’ll get it on there soon!

Leave a Reply

