Skip to content

Grandma’s Pie

September 18, 2008

Every time the holidays rolled around my grandmother would take orders for pie. When we arrived for dinner, a neat row of steaming pies with buttery golden crust oozing with fruit fillings would be lined up on the kitchen counter. Now I’m not talking about little bitty personal pies, no my grandma would bake from scratch a big ole pie of our choosing for each of us.

Our family tends to err on the side of cooking too much food to make sure everyone has enough and every meal is a celebration. From appetizers, through the main course and heaping sides, our bellies would bust with my grandma’s savory delights. Come dessert time, my brother and I used to take a seventh inning stretch on the couch because we were so full. But there was always room for pie.

My grandmother died while I was still young, so my taste buds hadn’t matured past cherry or apple, but my brother had settled on lemon meringue and my mother chocolate-pecan. My sister and father were the sophisticated ones whose refined palate asked for plum pie. Depending on the season, the variety would change. Sometimes it was elephant plums, but their Autumn favorite was prune plum pie.

Thankfully my mother happened be visiting this weekend. I almost walked past the purple critters overflowing from a Farmer’s Stand until she pointed out the plums that were my grandma’s secret (and as serendipity would have it was their last week in season). I was too young to remember what they looked like and I had forgotten what the pie even tasted like. In fact, I wasn’t even sure I had ever any since my sister and father would eat straight from the tin, finishing the entire pie before coffee was served.

In hindsight, I have my grandmother Cele to thank for my insatiable hunger for baked goods.

Grandma Cele’s Pie

For recipe…

Grandma Cele’s Pie

Crust
1 stick of butter
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg
1 cup of flour
1 teaspoon vanilla

Cream the butter and sugar and then add egg, then flour, and vanilla. Batter should be stiff like cookie dough. Pat down in pie dish and place in fridge.

Filling
12-15 pitted prune plums cut lengthwise (I quartered them)
1/2 cup sugar
1 1/2 tablespoons corn starch

Mix the fruit, sugar, and cornstarch and pour over pie crust.

Bake at 350 for one hour and eat straight out of pan!

Note: I didn’t have corn starch so I substituted a little flour. I also used a little less sugar in the filling. I also couldn’t find our pie pan so I used our springform pan and made it more like a tart.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2008 5:11 am

    Look delicious! Did you eat the whole thing yet? And did you let your wife eat more than a bite? 🙂

  2. voncook permalink
    September 18, 2008 11:41 am

    I bet he didn’t! 😀

  3. lastomach permalink*
    September 18, 2008 5:38 pm

    This pie is too rich for one man so yes, the Wife had her share.

  4. cathy permalink
    September 22, 2008 6:13 am

    Thanks for the lovely childhood memories , there is nothing as comforting as returning to the warm baked culinary memories. My grandmother used to make the most delicous orange cake which I still remember clearly and a beautiful baked apple sponge pudding , the smell of cloves and apples on the stove still cast my mind back to that joyful carefree time.

  5. GI Jew permalink
    October 6, 2008 4:51 pm

    Oh, wish I had seen this before yesterday’s visit to the FM. I knew I wanted to load up on plums, but didn’t have a real justification.

    Btw, I always nearly halve the butter in crust recipes, esp. for the French ones. Have you tried easing up on the butter for this one?

Leave a Reply

